LONELY IT WAS WHEN I FIRST SAW IT


LONELY IT WAS WHEN I FIRST SAW IT,
ON THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD :IN ITS DESPAIR
I DOUBT IF ANYONE HAS EVER LOOKED AT IT
BUT THERE IT LAID IN ITS DESPAIR

NOONE EVER KNEW HOW LONELY IT WAS
NOONE EVER UNDERSTOOD THE AGONY OF ITS TEARS
PEOP[LE JUST STARE AT IT AND WHISPER A SONG;
THE SONG OF CURSE THAT MADE ITS ECHO EVERYWHERE

IF I COULD FIND A WAY OUT FOR YOU,
I COULD HAVE DONE IT LONG BEFORE MY DEAR
BUT I AM ALSO A SCARLET LETTER LIKE YOU
WHER NOONE LIKES TO WRITES ANYTHING ON.

THE SONGS OF LONELINESS IS ALL THAT I CAN SING,
FOR ITS ALL WHAT IS STRIKING THE ROOF OF MY HEART
THE LONELY SOUL WHICH BEATS FOR NOTHING
AND NOTHING CAN FIND ITS WAY TO IT

Leave a Reply

